While the state of Colorado takes sex crime charges very seriously, those involving children as the alleged victims are deemed to be especially egregious, and the associated penalties upon conviction can have harsh, life-long consequences. According to Colorado law, sexual assault of a minor can be charged when the alleged victim is younger than 18 years older; sexual assault of a child charges can be filed when the alleged victim is younger than 15 years old and the accused is four or more years older than the victim.
Situations in which a sexual assault of a minor or child charge may be filed include when the accused exposed himself or enticed the victim to expose himself (or herself); unlawfully touching the victim, whether above or beneath clothing, occurred; etc. Should the accused hold a position of trust in the community (i.e., be a teacher, coach, clergy member, doctor, etc.), the charges and possible resulting penalties will be significantly more serious.
The Denver sex assault defense lawyers at the Adams Law Firm strongly urge those accused of sex assault of a minor or child to consult with us as soon as possible for the best chances of resolving their case as beneficially as possible. While we are firmly dedicated to aggressively defending our Clients’ rights, we are also knowledgeable about Colorado sex crime laws and skilled at litigating against prosecutors in any legal setting. We believe that our Clients are innocent until proven guilty, and our Denver sex assault defense attorneys will work relentlessly to help our Clients achieve the best possible outcomes to their cases.
Sex Assault on a Minor/Child Penalties
Should those accused of sexually assaulting a minor or child be convicted of these charges, they can face the following possible penalties:
2- to 6-year prison sentences, 3 years of parole, up to $500,000 in fines and mandatory registration with the Colorado Sex Offender Registry. These sex assault penalties are associated with Class 4 felony convictions.
Should the offender hold a possible of trust in the community, use threats or force to commit the assault, or have repeatedly abused the victim, Class 3 felony charges will be associated with these charges; the resulting penalties can be between 4 and 12 years in prison (followed by 5 years of parole), up to $750,000 in fines, and mandatory registration with the Colorado sex offender registry.
For the strongest possible defense against these charges, as well as more information about your legal rights and a professional assessment of your case, email us or call us at (720) 333-9490.
Why Hire Us
When facing any type of criminal charge, the accused will want to secure the strongest possible defense representation in order to reduce the chances of conviction, the possibility of having to submit to harsh sentences and the chances of having a permanent criminal record.
Click here to learn about Attorney Adams and the reasons to consider him for legal representation.